Seniorschool









Preparing for the world

Speech Day
2.00pm Friday, 20th June 2014





ORDER OF CEREMONY

OPENING ADDRESS

Mr. Sandy Mackenzie, Head of Senior School

Musical Interlude

Year 12 Rock Band

1st in Subject and Diligence Awards for Years 7-9 Announced by Leo Song and Serena Joseph, presented by Mr. John McCarthy

> MUSICAL INTERLUDE Liam and Brianna Kennedy

THE HEADMASTER'S ADDRESS Mr. Paul Friend, Headmaster

1ST IN SUBJECT AND DILIGENCE AWARDS FOR YEARS 10-12 Announced by Mr. Aaron King and Mr. Damian Gray, presented by Mr. John McCarthy

THE HEADMASTER'S AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AND ENDEAVOUR Announced by Mr. Sandy Mackenzie, presented by Mr. Paul Friend

Musical Interlude DCS Jazz

THE GUEST OF HONOUR ADDRESS Mr. John McCarthy

AWARDS FOR CO-CURRICULAR CONTRIBUTIONS AND SPECIAL AWARDS Announced by Mr. Sandy Mackenzie, presented by Mr. John McCarthy

HOUSE CHAMPIONS AWARD Announced by Ms. Susan Hobkinson, presented by Ms. John McCarthy

STUDENTS' RESPONSE

Leo Song and Serena Joseph

CLOSE

	1st in Subject	DILIGENCE
Art & Design	Hannah Chui	Vernita Zhai
Chinese 1st Language	Moses Zheng	Anson Chan
Drama	Vernita Zhai	Harry Xu
EAL	Sunho Lee	Moses Zheng
English	Vernita Zhai	Isabella Keldsen
French	Vernita Zhai	Stephen O'Rourke Jr.
Geography	Olivia Bemis-Driscoll	Jay Yu
History	Olivia Bemis-Driscoll	Jay Yu
Mandarin 2nd Language	Shayna Phonchareon	Casper Orens
Mathematics	Max Cui	Sunho Lee
Music	Jasmine Lu	Remy Seneque
PE	Chad Liu	Griffin Mitchell
Science	Vernita Zhai	Alessandro Vezzuto
Spanish	Liam McLeod	Claire Allan

	1st in Subject	DILIGENCE
Art & Design	Sarah Chan	Gabriel Taylor
Chinese 1st Language	Lauren Loy	Joline Cappo
Drama	Imogen Porter	James McDouall
EAL	Alex Ju	Jack Yan
English	Alicia Lau	Sahana Devarajan
French	Lauren Loy	Jessica Ma
Geography	Kevin Xie	Kelly Wang
History	Imogen Porter	Daisy Law
Mandarin 2nd Language	Alex Ju	Freya Todorova
Mathematics	Ian Teh	Bryant Wong
Music	Jack Yan	David O'Rourke
PE	Sally Ip	Paula Drewes
Science	Lauren Loy	Rosie Wood
Spanish	Pui Yu Yau	Annabelle Welch

	1st in Subject	DILIGENCE
Art & Design	Angela Lin	Alexander Tung
Chinese 1st Language	Ashley Wu	Claudia Meng
Drama	Clara Martiny	Claudia Meng
EAL	Simon Cho	Renee Hetherington
English	Claudia Meng	Blake Tankersley
French	So Yeon Kim	Isabella Fincher
Geography	Alexander Tung	Dominic Yap
History	Isabella Fincher	Stephanie Wong
Mandarin 2nd Language	Amelia Lee	Courtney McAtee
Mathematics	Claudia Meng	Lara Drewes
Music	Johnnie Yu	Amelia Lee
PE	Sophia Daenen	Keir Metcalfe
Science	Claudia Meng	Emile Mensikova
Spanish	Tara Parekh	Mao Nakano



	1st in Subject	DILIGENCE
Biology	Jamie Baudry	Su Mi Cho
Business Studies	Marwan Eladl	Celine Cheung
Chemistry	Charmaine Tan	Mimmy (Ying-Tong) Lee
Chinese 1st Language	Yuqi Wu	Patrick Zou
Drama	Ella King	Chloe Chan
Economics	Anthony Chong	Charmaine Tan
English	Sabrina Xie	Bethany McAtee
Fine Art	Amanda Chen	Brendan Channe
French	Celine Cheung	Charmaine Tan
Geography	Joseph Xiong	Sabrina Xie
Graphic Design	Sebastian De Marino	Su Mi Cho
History	Danielle Sng	Abbygail Sheng
Mandarin 2nd Language	Pei Yan Lim	Maria Alvarez Najera
Mathematics	Charmaine Tan	Jamie Baudry
Music	Yi Jian Tan	Nayan Thakurani
PE	Chiara De Brabant	Rick Boelen
PE (GCSE)	Maria Alvarez Najera	Camille Laubel
Physics	Marwan Eladl	Danielle Sng
Spanish	Jamie Baudry	Marwan Eladl

	1st in Subject	DILIGENCE
Biology	Leo Song	Jessica King
Business and Management	Tristan Mathieson	Nikita Devarajan
Chemistry	Leo Song	Sydney Chen
Chinese Language A	Anna He	Michael Zhu
Economics	Ashley Van De Casteele	Samantha Noether
English	Ashley Van De Casteele	Alexandra Waller
Environmental Systems and Societies	Matilde Masetti-Placci	Janice Li
Film	Ashley Van De Casteele	Nisha Dass
French	Matilde Masetti-Placci	Nikita Devarajan
Geography	Samantha Noether	Janice Li
German	Luca Gillich	Victor Pierre
History	Samuel Maynard	Prinda Khusakul
Mandarin 2nd Language	Katie Chui	Lara Nathie
Mathematics	Anna He	Leo Song
Music	Samuel Faulkner	Amy Hao
Physics	Muhannad Eladl	Alexandra Waller
PE	Victor Pierre	Sydney Chen
Psychology	Sydney Chen	Alexandra Waller
Spanish	Ashley Van De Casteele	Alexandra Waller
ToK	Nikita Devarajan	Leo Song
Theatre	Jasmine Drummond	Celia Billhardt
Visual Arts	Anna He	Michelle Puri

HEADMASTER'S AWARDS

	ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE	APPLICATION AND ENDEAVOUR
Year 7	Vernita Zhai	Olivia Bemis-Driscoll
Year 8	Lauren Loy	Phoebe Howlett
Year 9	Tara Parekh	Angela Lin
Year 10	Yi Jian Tan	Celine Cheung
Year 12	Anna He	Lara Nathie

Co-Curricular Awards

SPORTS AWARD

Lower School	Karl Conroy	Sophia Daenen
Upper School	Teng Cheng Hoo	Madeline Thompsett

Performing Arts Award - Music

Lower School	Thomas Speciel	Isabella Fincher
Upper School	Yi Jian Tan	Angelina Shum

Performing Arts Award - Drama

Lower School	Osbert Han	Isabella Fincher
Upper School	Henry Wallace	Alexandra Waller

SPECIAL AWARDS

DCS LEADERSHIP AWARD

Lower School Priyanka Iyer Upper School Leo Song

EDWARD ALLEYN AWARD FOR CITIZENSHIP

Serena Joseph

WELLESLEY COLLEGE BOOK AWARD Sydney Chen

INTERNATIONAL DIANA AWARD Nikita Devarajan

JOANNE BROOKE SERVICE AWARD Samuel Faulkner

BALANCED INDIVIDUAL AWARDS

Year 7	Nicole Godfrey
Year 8	Sahana Devarajan
Year 9	Mao Nakano
Year 10	Michael Cheong
Year 12	Kay Chan